You Down with C.C.P. ?

You Down with C.C.P. ?

Yea, you know me...or maybe not. My name is Jose Talancha. I'm an AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner. You might have seen me around twitter:

Screen Shot 2020-07-30 at 10.55.54 AM.png

No? I go by jcloudofthrones...wait still nothing? Okay well then I'm sure you know me by the hot rising hashtag #100DaysOfCloud.

tenor.gif

Ok well if you still don't know it's all good. I'm not here to be popular. I'm just here to do my part and help the cloud community, especially the ones who are interested in taking the CCP (Certified Cloud Practitioner) exam.

There are so many fantastic blog posts on:

"How I passed my Certified Cloud Practitioner Certification"

and I'm not really sure if I want to go down that road. Maybe after this I'll write about my actual certificate journey. Stay tuned.

So in honor of saving you time I'm going to give it to you straight. I'm also going to give you some quick resources and tips to help you along the way. Sound good? Awesome lets go!

What is the AWS path of the Cloud Practitioner?

learning-paths_cloud-practitioner.4f39d203e37f8b9514da5d69ec20d1f33def9ded.png

On the AWS website it states that:

This learning path is intended for individuals who are looking to build and validate overall understanding of the AWS Cloud. This path is useful for individuals in technical, managerial, sales, purchasing, or financial roles who work with the AWS Cloud. >

It's also recommending the AWS Cloud Practitioner Essentials (Second Edition) digital course. It's a good place to start but once you finish the course I'm recommending some others for you.

This is the AWS homepage for the CCP.

Go through the site. It has a good amount of information on how to prepare for your certification.

You can also download the exam guide and sample questions. But the most important link on the homepage is the one that leads you to actually how to take the exam (more on that later).

How to prepare for the exam?

There are so many resources to use to help you pass the exam. From free tutorials on youtube to paid courses. I honestly don't mind paying for quality content. It's a small investment towards a possible big future in cloud.

Ready

Start with Andrew Brown's Exampro Cloud Practitioner Course

Andrew Brown- ExampPro Certification Paid Course

Neal Davis-Digital Cloud Training

Ryan Kroonenburg- A Cloud Guru

Set

726264.jpg

They way I organized my studies was with my big 3 resources listed above.

  • Study the same topics/chapters in order for each tutorial. (For example: When studying the chapter that goes over IAM make sure you continue the IAM topic in the 2 other courses. IAM in exampro/DigitalCoud/ACloudGuru. Rinse & repeat for the other topics in the cloud practitioner courses).
  • Take notes. (Write them out)
  • Take the small quizzes if provided.
  • After you completed your studies focus on taking the simulated exams. They should be 65 questions with a timed limit. This will challenge you but will also prepare for the exam.
  • Not if but when you fail them, review the exam and write down all the ones you got wrong with the correct answers.
  • Immediately go over them and retake the practice test.
  • This will reinforce what you learned and give your bruised ego the confidence you need to continue.

Don't worry if you fail again just rinse and repeat. Trust the process and you will succeed!

Cloud

Now after you have studied, took all your notes, passed all your practice exams (80% or better) AND created your AWS account, you are ready for your exam. Click on the link below and follow all the instructions to book your exam. You can take the exam at a local testing center and now even from the comfort of your own home!

Schedule Your Exam

AWS-CloudPractitioner.png

Well that's it. I think this is the quick no mess guide to getting your AWS Cloud Practitioner Certification.

Even though this is how I passed my certification, I know everyone learns differently and at their own pace. So don't get frustrated, take your time and find the path that works for you.

I hope this has helped someone out there and if it has please leave me a Tweet or follow our #100DaysOfCloud Twitter List.

Please reach out if you need any help and join us on the Cloud Community Discord Channel.

I wish you nothing but luck in your clouding future and if someone asks if you are down with CCP you now know what to say!

Big shout out to My AWS Community Hero and friend Andrew Brown . Thank you for always encouraging me to take the next step and leading us by example.